I Love ...

I Love … Unusual Christening Gifts

Only slightly off-topic. I’ve come across some christening gifts recently that are more interesting than a silver spoon. And as bloggers love to share … 

With 5-ish weeks to go to my due date, it’s safe to say I’m not looking at christening gifts for our baby. With one ‘atheist+’ and one ‘christian-‘ in our household how – or if – we formally celebrate our little bean’s arrival is a whole separate post.

However, having been to family and friend’s christenings and searched for gifts that don’t involve silver spoons or money boxes, I’ve found a number of unique alternatives.

1. Classic children’s books box set

Winnie the Pooh Box Set unique christening gifts

There are some children’s books that stand the test of time. I remember being enchanted by the tales of Winnie the Pooh, The Mr. Men and Peter Rabbit and co. again and again at bedtime. Other classic sets include the Thomas the Tank Engine series, Paddington Bear or for something a little more grown up, the Roald Dahl collection.

Find classic children’s books via Amazon


 2. Day of birth framed photo

Unique Christening Gift Framed photo

I stumbled across this company during a jaunt around the internet. Through a team of photographers who capture the sunrise every day, they can create a framed print commemorating the exact day the little one was born. There’s a number of framing and size options. Personally, I love the edge print style, framed (see above) as you can then clearly see your personalised text below.

Day of birth sunrise photos via The Day That … 


3. Personalised passport holder

Unusual christening gift personalised passport holder

For future little jet-setters, a personalised passport holder is a gift that will last longer than the passport itself (side note – are newborn baby passports REALLY meant to last for five years? And how on earth do you get them to look straight at the camera?!). I’ve only ever chosen this for slightly older children, but there’s no reason it wouldn’t make a good christening gift.

Personalised passport holder via Aspinal of London


 4. Personalised Swiss Army knife

Unusual christening gift swiss army knife personalised

To be totally honest, Charlie & I have wildly differing opinions on this final option. I thought it was a lovely unusual christening gift – in this case for a boy – he thought it was an absolutely terrible idea. So we’ve never actually given it. But I maintain it’s a good option. No they’re not going to be using it for a while, but in the future it might become the essential part of their much-loved kit they take everywhere. So it stays in this list.

Personalised Swiss Army knife via Swiss Tool

-x-x-x-

Has anyone bought / received any other unique christening gifts they’d add to this list? Alternatively, anyone got any good ideas for baby ceremonies that don’t involve a christening?  

4 thoughts on “I Love … Unusual Christening Gifts

  1. Oh these are such great gift ideas especially the boxed book set collections. I tend to give money at the christenings I go to because those silver spoons or frames are so cliche and can’t think of anything else to give

    Like

    • Thanks, and they’ve been well received too. Not that there’s anything wrong with money – apparently couples are asking for cash more and more for weddings as well. At least this way the recipients can definitely get something they want!

      Like

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab
    inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Love … The Day That, Birth Day Photo | DamBaby

Leave a Reply

